Getting knotted

Arctic fox

Arctic Fox necklace and bracelet

As I’ve been learning about ancient textile crafts as part of my volunteering work at Stonehenge, I’ve really caught the knotting, weaving and braiding bug these past few months. I love creating braids, knots and jewellery pieces using a range of different pendants, charms and cord colours and now I’ve made so many I need to start selling them or the house will just fill up with them! So I’ve started a shop on the Etsy website and yesterday I did my first ever craft fair as a seller rather than a buyer; the first craft fair of the season at Marlborough Town Hall in Wiltshire. I’ve loved going to craft fairs all my life, but never had a go at being on the other side of the tables. I loved it, and sold my first pieces which is really exciting. The very first piece to go was the Arctic Fox necklace and bracelet set in the picture on the left. I found these cute little glass fox pendants on the web and bought them from an outlet in China, and have had great fun creating necklaces with different knots and colours.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Polished ammonite with copper fastenings

It’s a lovely feeling to design and create something that people like and want to buy. At my day job in education I design and support courses on which students register, and I love it and find it very rewarding. But it is a bit distant, in comparison to designing and creating a physical ‘thing’. I love the whole process of design and creation, and especially getting ideas from a wide range of inspirations and then thinking about how ancient and traditional knot designs can create a modern piece of jewellery. For example, the ammonite necklace in the picture on the right came about after a visit to Salisbury Museum whilst browsing about in the museum shop. These beautiful real polished ammonites were on sale, and gave me all sorts of ideas. The little girl who bought this necklace yesterday seemed really delighted with it, which just made my day 🙂

I think I’ve caught the craft fair bug too now, after a great day yesterday meeting really talented and friendly people on the stalls. There’s a great feeling of camaraderie and support, which made the whole experience such a pleasure. And so lovely to see so much talent on display. I’m looking at where to go to my next fair in the summer (I have to build up the stocks in my ‘spare time’ – what’s that?) and I’ll post where I’m going, and reports on how they went, here on the blog. I’m just having so much fun with this 🙂

2 thoughts on “Getting knotted

  1. Hi Liz, we spoke on Saturday at the Marlborough Gift and Craft Fair and I left you with a flyer for the Wanborough May Day Fayre (4th May 2015). Hoping that you’d like to book a stall with us. Please contact me to let me know whether you can join us. Thank you. Tessa

    • Hi Tessa,
      Yes, lovely to meet you. I am thinking of having a stall at your May Day fair, but we’re moving house early April and so things are a bit upside down at the moment. I’ll need to make some more pieces as quite a bit sold at Marlborough, so just looking at timings at the moment. I’ll get back to you as soon as I can 🙂
      Cheers
      Liz.

Leave a Reply

